Robert Hamblin was born in Jericho, Mississippi, in 1938. He holds undergraduate degrees from Northeast Mississippi Community College and Delta State University and an M.A. and Ph.D. from the University of Mississippi. A professor of English, as well as director of the Center for Faulkner Studies, at Southeast Missouri State University, in Cape Girardeau, he started his teaching career as a high school English teacher and baseball coach in Baltimore, Maryland. He has also taught and lectured in England, the Netherlands, China, and Japan. Hamblin serves as associate editor of The Cape Rock and was poetry editor for Aethlon: The Journal of Sport Literature from 1984 to 2005. His four previous books of poems are Perpendicular Rain (1986), From the Ground Up: Poems of One Southerner's Passage to Adulthood (1992), Mind the Gap: Poems by an American in London (2004), and Keeping Score: Sports Poems for Every Season  (2007). His newest poetry book is entitled Crossroads: Poems of a Mississippi Childhood (2010).

For more information, please see www2.semo.edu/hamblin.



david and KDavid lives in Pittsburgh with his wife Marsha, and his children Kara-Zeal and Emerson Welles. He is the founder of SubtleTea.com and the author of Sharon Tate and the Daughters of Joy (Time Being Books, 2013) and Abyssinia, Jill Rush (Time Being Books, 2010).

For more information on SubtleTea, click here.

Click on the links below to read a few of the latest reviews of Sharon Tate and the Daughters of Joy:

Pittsburgh City Paper


Verbicide Magazine

Madame Perry's Salon

Chamber Four













William Heyen was born in 1940 in Brooklyn, New York. His undergraduate degree is from State University of New York at Brockport, where he is a professor of English and poet in residence; his graduate degrees are from Ohio University. A former senior Fulbright Lecturer in American Literature to Germany, he has been awarded two fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, a John Simon Guggenheim Fellowship, the Eunice Tietjens Memorial Prize from Poetry magazine, and the Witter Bynner Prize for Poetry from the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters. His writing has appeared in many periodicals, including American Poetry Review, Harper's, TriQuarterly, Ontario Review, The New Yorker, and The Southern Review, and in more than a hundred anthologies. Time Being Books has published the following titles: Erika: Poems of the Holocaust (out of print), Falling from Heaven: Holocaust Poems of a Jew and a Gentile, The Host: Selected Poems,1965-1990 (out of print), Pterodactyl Rose: Poems of Ecology, and Ribbons: The Gulf War — A Poem.


Ted Hirschfield was born Helmut Hirschfeld, in Prussia, Germany, in 1941. During WWII, his father, a Baptist minister, was ousted from his pulpit, and his family was separated by the Nazis. Reunited in 1946, they emigrated, in 1951, to the United States. Hirschfield was educated at Hollins College and Vanderbilt University. He taught at Southeast Missouri State University, in the Department of English. A volume of his selected verse, entitled Human Weather, appeared in 1991, and German Requiem: Poems of the War and Atonement of a Third Reich Child was published by Time Being Books, in 1993.


Born in Doyleston Pennsylvania, in 1933, Virginia V. James Hlavsa received her Ph.D. in English and American literature from the State University of New York at Stony Brook and taught for many years at Queens College. She has written extensively on Faulkner; her book Faulkner and the Thoroughly Modern Novel was issued in 1991 by the University Press of Virginia, and she was Guest Editor of Women's Studies for a special issue on "Faulkner and Women." In addition to writing poetry, which has appeared in journals such as Descant, Commonweal, and The Dalhousie Review, she tutors writing to learning-disabled young adults. Married for over forty years, she and her husband, Richard, have one son, David, a graduate of Princeton and the University of Washington. Waking October Leaves: Reanimations by a Small-Town Girl, was published by Time Being Books, in 1993.