Orders may be placed directly through Amazon.com.

Five Facets of Myself


by Louis Daniel Brodsky



She lies there,
Leaking tears that speak
Liquidly as drunken soliloquies,
Repentant and wrong as winter
When buds still cling to bees.

I am the golden apple,
The silver blossom that falls,
Still clawing the writhing,
Soft-spilling belly.

She sits nude,
A bohemian Eve,
Weightless on bony haunches,
Detesting life that lies
Comfortably between lewd legs,
Sinking under twenty centuries of sin.

I bolt from her bedroom,
A vengeful Adam,
Half clothed and dank,
Wanting to leave forever,
Knowing severance is impossible.

Use the player below to listen to Louis Daniel Brodsky read this poem.


Brodsky’s first full-length book of poems, Five Facets of Myself, a collection of fifty pieces, explores the broader cultural awareness of the mid 1960s, from one man’s provocative vantage point — that of a young, unencumbered student, fettered only by the "tended vastation" of "dog-eared days" spent in "a passive classroom" — as he questions the moral values, historical significance, and provincial attitudes of the time.

You may also be interested in this/these product(s)